08
Apr
11

With sultry “What Do I Do” and raw “Like Me Meaner”, aussie Lanie Lane reminds us why smoky jazz never goes out of style


I stumbled across the works of the fabulous Lanie Lane yesterday, and all I can say is WHAT A VOICE!!! Sydney born Lanie takes a BIG cue from the golden jazz age, channeling such influences as Doris Day and Muddy Waters. Her music could probably be best described as swampy blues, with heavy bass, moody guitar, and mesmerizing harmonies. Her first single, “What Do I Do” came out at the end of the year, and she just released a follow up single “Like Me Meaner”, which is the debut single off her upcoming album (no news on the title yet) coming out mid 2011. Both songs are available for download on her soundcloud page, and after giving her a listen, I’m sure you’ll be jumping on those downloads like I did.

To get an idea of what Lanie’s all about, just watch the video for “What Do I Do”. Lanie’s dressed to the ’50’s nines, complete with headscarf. The song itself has an amazing smoky jazz nightclub sound which reminds me of a particularly awesome night dancing to a man playing the washboard. Lanie’s vocals are smooth and classic, and the use of different instruments to create the symphony of old school sound is simply delightful.

What Do I Do

Now that you’re (obviously) hooked, take a listen to “Like Me Meaner”. The description of the song on her soundcloud page is pretty much perfect, so I’ll just let it do the talking:

“Like Me Meaner” offers up a tale of barely suppressed desire set against a soundtrack of swinging drums and Australian swamp guitar, with a tip of a hat to the original Hoochie Coochie Man, Mr. Muddy Waters in the chorus. Recorded in one take on a sweltering night in the middle of the city of Sydney, it captures the feeling of the hottest night of the year in a bottle.

Like Me Meaner


1 Response to “With sultry “What Do I Do” and raw “Like Me Meaner”, aussie Lanie Lane reminds us why smoky jazz never goes out of style”



Leave a comment


April 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives