20
Mar
12

Lana Del Rey’s “Blue Jeans” video doesn’t quite hit it’s mark as a metaphor for hopeless love


I think we’re all starting to get the picture. Lana Del Rey is soooo deep she likes to be choked, manhandled, and accosted by her men. Or at least that’s what I’m getting from her brand new video for “Blue Jeans” off her album Born to Die. I’m sure that the theme was more along the lines of her being like Ophelia, willing to give all of herself for the person she is so madly in love with. But honestly, after watching the video all I can think is she’s got auto erotic asphyxiation fetishes.

Not to say that the video isn’t well done. The sublimely talented Woodkid films this gorgeously, with beautiful underwater scenes and perfect timing. If only the whole video had taken a tip from it’s best part – the underwater alligator (crocodile? I’m not sure what the difference is). The image of Lana caressing the deadly creature actually does beautifully capture the metaphor for love that is so severe and heartbreaking it can be dangerous for you. If I could judge the video based on this and the cinematography alone, it’d be stunning. But I can’t – and I’m left feeling a little disappointed. Lana’s obsession with crafting herself as this dark sadomasochistic mistress is getting old. It’s not unique, it’s not interesting, and it’s certainly not sexy when it’s performed on screen with a sleazy looking man with a FREAKING FOREHEAD TATTOO. I mean, come on, seriously?! Who the hell is this guy and why would anyone in their right mind want to see him be intimate with a beautiful woman? He’s like what happens when you accidentally put too much soy sauce on  a great Chinese dish – the deliciousness may still be in there, but it’s hard to find it under all that salt.

My critique is no disrespect to Lana’s musical talents. The song is definitely amazing, and we’ve written about it before here on HotW. I’m just, well, bored with the image she’s trying to project. I preferred the melancholy naivete that we saw in her original version of “Blue Jeans” – a home movie style video that was perfectly reflective of love’s pains.

Watch the new version first below, and then check out the original to see if you agree with my assessment.


0 Responses to “Lana Del Rey’s “Blue Jeans” video doesn’t quite hit it’s mark as a metaphor for hopeless love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


March 2012
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives