13
Sep
11

Lanie Lane and Jack White make beautiful retro rock music with brand new single “Ain’t Hungry”


In keeping with the vintage theme of yesterday’s post about artist Lana Del Rey, today I’ve got something new from the lovely Lanie Lane. A while back I found out the Australian artist and her lovely swampy jazz style, but she was far from putting out an album, and I hadn’t heard anything more from her since. My Monday post inspired me to check up on Lane, and it couldn’t have been better timing! Apparently the all-over-the-place Jack White took a liking to Ms. Lane (this collaboration makes a hell of a lot more sense than ICP), and worked with her on her brand new, just released single, “Ain’t Hungry”.

Jack White’s influence is clear on “Ain’t Hungry”, in that it’s full of heavy guitar riffs rather than more jazz and bass beats like we’ve heard from Lane in the past. But that doesn’t detract from her charm or talent. It merely showcases it in a new way. I dig it. And you will too. Check out the music video below.

Also, as a little added treat because it’s been so long since I’ve blogged about Lane, a little youtube clip I found of her singing “Hoochie Coochie Man”. It’s simple, stripped down, just her and her bass. It’s really really good. Hope you enjoy it as well.


1 Response to “Lanie Lane and Jack White make beautiful retro rock music with brand new single “Ain’t Hungry””



Leave a comment


September 2011
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives